Recipe: Meatless Monday: Black Bean Lettuce Bundles


There are two types of people: Those who look at this picture and think, “dog puke” and those who notice the beautiful rainbow of  bell peppers, scallions, the white specks of garlic and think, “Dinner!”

Luckily, my 6.5 year old falls in to the second camp; he’s already had five servings of this to eat tonight. Good thing we have three bathrooms, that’s all I’m gonna say about that.

I first found this recipe at Whole Foods, and they got it from Joel Fuhrman, M.D.’s Eat for Health.  After having this dish and watching my fellas devour their dinner like everything they’ve ever eaten until this point was, well, dog puke,  I think I’m going to buy the book set. That’s how good this little concoction is. It is really good. I mean, really, really good. So good Matt asked that we please serve it every Monday.

What I adore about black beans is that for their humble reputation as an affordable pantry staple, they actually rival grapes and cranberries for antioxidant content . Add that to their fiber and protein content, and these little things become the super food of the canned food aisle.

Did I mention this recipe is also really quick? Start to finish, it took less than 10 minutes. And that it’s low-calorie (about 225 calories/serving).

And it’s cheap! FTW!

Yum!

Serves 4….(each serving has about 14g of protein, 14g of fiber and 225 calories…but I suggest you do your own calorie calculations based on your ingredients)

INGREDIENTS:

2 cans cooked no-salt added black beans

1/2 large avocado

1/2 green bell pepper (I used left over red and yellow bell peppers instead)

3 scallions, chopped

1/3 cup fresh cilantro (I used about a half Tablespoon of dried cilantro)

2 Tablespoons lime juice

1 tsp ground cumin

1 clove garlic, minced

1/3 cup mild low-sodium salsa

8 large romaine lettuce leaves

DIRECTIONS:

Drain and rinse beans. Heat beans over medium heat until warm, about 5 minutes. Mash beans and avacado in a bowl, then  mix all ingredients except lettuce. Use lettuce as tortillas and place about 1/4 cup of the bean mix in to the center of each lettuce leaf.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Meatless Monday: Black Bean Lettuce Bundles

  1. Yeppers, that is just what that picture looks like. Seeing it in person and knowing I could use it as a dip and it had things like avocado and bell peppers in it. I would see it in a different light.

    But, my first knee jerk reaction was, YUCK! LOL But the recipe sounds good and I do like things like this. So I will have to give it the “Mom” try and see what my mom thinks of it. I am always making “strange” food for her. She loves the cooking shows, specially Paula and her butter. So she doesn’t mind me experimenting on her.

    Will let you know how it goes over. Did you see my pictures of the “Springerle”? The next time I make them, I am going to use cooking ammonia instead of the baking powder and pure anise. I also want to make some of the citrus ones. I so love these cookies. The texture and all. Don’t think my family is as fond of them. but, who cares. LOL

  2. OK, I’ve made this recipe several times now and modified it a little in a way that I think makes it even better (it was already perfect, now it’s Perfect with a capital P):
    I use 1/2-3/4 each of a red, yellow and orange bell pepper (I use the other portions of the bell peppers in my coconut curry recipe and/or the three bean chili recipe and as ingredients in omelets).

    I use an entire avocado instead of half. If you really want to use just half then save the other half and serve with the Chicken Tortilla Soup in the next day or two…or with shrimp and cucumbers on a salad. Yum.

    I use 1.5 tsp dried cilantro (cheaper) and add that and the cumin to the beans while they are sauteing in a little extra-virgin olive oil. If fresh garlic is too much kick for you, you can add that to the saute, too.

    I use 1-1.5 cups mild Pace Thick and Chunky salsa. I’d like to use medium or hot but little dude’s palate isn’t up for that yet. Even with mild, it’s really, really good.

  3. Pingback: Monthly Meal Plan: February 2012 « SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

