RECIPE: How to make Turkey Pot Pie (and how to make it dairy-free, too)


My Turkey Pot Pie--after both boys have had seconds.

My Turkey Pot Pie–after both boys have had seconds.

I’m making one of my favorite left-over dinners tonight: turkey pot pie. It is such a breeze, uses mostly items already on hand, and most of the prep can be done the day or two before. I made the pie crusts last night (I use the same crust recipe as I do for apple pie) and chopped up the veggies a few days ago.

The recipe card for Turkey Pot Pie says, "Logan's Favorite" at the top...can you guess why?

The recipe card for Turkey Pot Pie says, “Logan’s Favorite” at the top…can you guess why?

The biggest problem is that I’ve only got one pie plate…how often do you really need more than one at the same time? Ha! I need at least six at any given time because of all the pies I make. I miss my pie plate collection back home! It is only a problem tonight, really, because I was also planning on making an apple pie, too. Seriously.

Is there such a thing as too much pie? I don’t think so…

I will just be making this pie in my Hard-Core Casserole Dish instead of making it all pretty in the pie plate. It will taste the same.

A couple tips…Instead of chicken bullion, I use the Veggie Stock from the freezer; and for the crust I use my apple pie crust recipe.

Good to Know: This recipe freezes REALLY REALLY well. It also makes great turnovers–which, again, freeze really, really well. This is a perfect after-Thanksgiving use-all-the-leftovers kind of meal, too.

But you don’t have to wait until the end of November to have it; I buy a couple turkey drumsticks at the market once a month or so, cook ’em up when I am also cooking some chicken one night, and just throw this together when I’ve got time. Because it uses things I typically have on hand–onion, carrot, celery, potatoes, milk (half&half), butter,  spices–this is a very affordable meal to make. I can usually get three turkey drumsticks for less than $3.50.

Did I mention this is Logan’s Favorite? Yep. It is.

**To make it Dairy-Free: Replace butter/shortening with Earth Balance; Replace Milk with Taste of Thai coconut milk in the can (do not use coconut milk beverages in this recipe, use the canned coconut milks); use homemade vegetable stock or Kitchen Basics stock inplace of the chicken bullion.

INGREDIENTS

Turkey Pocket Pies using this recipe....yum! We made these with the left overs from tonight's pie: 8/15/09.

Turkey Pocket Pies using this recipe….yum! We made these with the left overs from tonight’s pie: 8/15/09.

  • 1 recipe pastry for a (10 inch) double crust pie (I use my apple pie crust recipe)**
  • 4 tablespoons butter**
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 3 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cubes chicken bouillon**
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked turkey, cubed
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup milk**

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Roll out bottom pie crust and place in the 10 inch pie pan and set aside.
  2. Place 2 tablespoons of the butter in a large skillet. Add the onion, celery, carrots, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper. Cook and stir until the vegetables are soft. Stir in the bouillon and water. Bring mixture to a boil. Stir in the potatoes, and cook until tender but still firm.
  3. In a medium saucepan, melt the remaining 2 tablespoons butter. Stir in the turkey and flour. Add the milk, and heat through. Stir the turkey mixture into the vegetable mixture, and cook until thickened. Pour mixture into the unbaked pie shell. Roll out the top crust, and place on top of filling. Flute edges, and make 4 slits in the top crust to let out steam.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) and continue baking for 20 minutes, or until crust is golden brown.

This recipe is modified from one at  Allrecipes.com

8 thoughts on “RECIPE: How to make Turkey Pot Pie (and how to make it dairy-free, too)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan (first three weeks of Aug. 2009) « Sugarmamabakingco’s Blog

  2. Pingback: REVIEW: Williams-Sonoma new Pocket Pie Molds « Sugarmamabakingco’s Blog

  3. Pingback: Adventures of Logan: Logan wants a Spiderman Cookbook « Sugarmamabakingco’s Blog

    • Thanks! It is so good; warms up the soul and makes the house smell great, too. 🙂 It is very easy and takes no extra work to make two at the same time…so you could make one and freeze one depending on how much extra turkey you’ve got…:)

  4. do you happen to have the carb and protein counts for this for me? it sounds so good. I think I will try it with extra turkey and leave the crust for the rest of the family.

    • I don’t have the nutrition info, no, I’m sorry! You can always try adding up all the ingredient info (exhausting, I know, which is why I haven’t done it! ha! 🙂 ) I wouldn’t suggest increasing the turkey too much or you will need to adjust the entire recipe for flavor to make sure the meat gets enough…Good luck! It is a family fav and makes really great pocket pies.

Leave a Reply

