Recipe: Amish Bread for the bread machine (the irony is not lost on me)


Matt says if I bake it, he will slice it...we'll see about that.

Matt says if I bake it, he will slice it…we’ll see about that.

So, how exactly can I post an Amish bread recipe for a bread machine with a straight face?

I can’t.

Thank god I have a bread machine.

Thank goddness I have a bread machine.

This is a family favorite bread I’ve been making for about three or four years. It works great with dinner, soups, stews and even as sandwich bread…which is how we will be using it this week as the Bread Gnomes have struck again and eaten all the store-bought, sliced bread. Ahem.

It is quick and easy white bread…and cheap, too.  Plus, home made bread can be much, much healthier for you and the family. And, if nothing else, it does make the house smell great.

Oh, and it’s dairy-free, too.

Ah, bread machine, how I love thee. I dump in ingredients, press a button, and you do all the work for me. No kneading; no mess; no watching the clock for exact rising and resting periods. Truly, good bread machines are worth every penny.

For six more ways to make bread machines worth their cost, check out this article at sheknows.com which states (far better than I could) exactly why bread machines kick ass, and how to make them even more awesome.

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 3/4 cups bread flour
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 18 tablespoons warm water

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select White Bread cycle; press Start.
  2. When the dough has raised once and second cycle of kneading begins, turn machine off. Reset by pressing Start once again. This gives the dough two full rising cycles before the final rising cycle prior to baking.
One thought on “Recipe: Amish Bread for the bread machine (the irony is not lost on me)

  1. Pingback: How To Make Bread

Leave a Reply

