Recipe: Buckeyes


Not to be confused with the nuts--which I'm sure are also delicious and much better for you--Buckeye Cookies are a divine no-bake option.

Not to be confused with the nuts–which I’m sure are also delicious and much better for you–Buckeye Cookies are a divine no-bake option. http://chelley325.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/christmas-baking-buckeyes/

I’d never even heard of these until I spent my first Christmas in Virginia.

My husband’s friend’s wife (who has the same name as me… strange, right?) made a batch of these and a batch of every other kind of cookie she has ever come across, I think, for the Holidays.

They were kind enough to invite us to crash their big, formal, family Christmas dinner since we don’t have any family in the time zone.

The inside of the buckeye is misleading; it is so much more than peanut butter. It is a gateway to heaven (and diet hell).

The inside of the buckeye is misleading; it is so much more than peanut butter. It is a gateway to heaven (and diet hell). Click image for Wake&Bake’s take on this yummy no-bake cookie.

These round little cookies, however, I couldn’t stop eating. They are deceiving: so small, yet so much taste.  So I dug around for them on the platter and asked about them so I could make them myself. She said they are a “midwest” thing. So is Custard, it turns out, and I REALLY, REALLY like that. So I think I might like the midwest a lot by the tastes of it. Hmm.

**To Make Dairy-Free: swap the chocolate chips for Enjoy Life Chocolate chips or chunks

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups peanut butter
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 4 cups semisweet chocolate chips**

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the peanut butter, butter, vanilla and confectioners’ sugar. The dough will look dry. Roll into 1 inch balls and place on a waxed paper-lined cookie sheet.
  2. Press a toothpick into the top of each ball (to be used later as the handle for dipping) and chill in freezer until firm, about 30 minutes.
  3. Melt chocolate chips in a double boiler or in a bowl set over a pan of barely simmering water. Stir frequently until smooth.
  4. Dip frozen peanut butter balls in chocolate holding onto the toothpick. Leave a small portion of peanut butter showing at the top to make them look like Buckeyes. Put back on the cookie sheet and refrigerate until serving.

FYI”I’ve made this recipe several times and everyone loves them! I use 4 cups confectioner’s sugar and 2 cups peanut butter. A few other techniques that have helped: chill the peanut butter mixture in the fridge 30 minutes before making the balls – this will help make a smoother, rounder buckeye. Also, melt more chocolate than the recipe calls for so you have a good pool of chocolate to dip the ball into (you’ll throw chocolate away, but it will make the product look better).”

Leave a Reply

