Recipe: No Bake Cookies (cocoa, peanut butter and oats version)


No Bake Cookies are a great way to use that costco-size
container of oats you bought...I'm just sayin'.

No Bake Cookies are a great way to use that
costco-size container of oats you bought...I'm just
sayin'.

For more No Bake Cookie
recipes, click these links: Chocolate
Coconut Haystacks,

Chocolate
Rum Balls,
Buckeyes,
Babe
Ruth Bars,
Chocolate
Oat Bars…
When most kids skip
school, they go somewhere awesome. Or at least somewhere they wont
get caught. When I skipped school in 3rd grade, I went directly
home. …I’ve always been a nerd like that… I’d waited until
recess to make my break for it, and I had pretended like I was
going to the bathroom. Instead, once I got to the building, I made
a run for it down the hill and across the street, disapearing into
the woods that lined our driveway. I lived across the street; it
was easy to do. When I got home, my mom was making No Bake Cookies.
She was surprised to see me, but very calm about it. She let me
have a cookie before telling me I had to get back before class
started again or I couldn’t have any more after school. So I ran
back to school, got there just in time to line up for class right
after recess. No one ever knew what I’d done or where I’d been,
except for my mom and me. And I ate many No Bake Cookies when I got
home again. This recipe, like so many, comes from allrecipes.com
. But while looking for the recipe, I noticed something:
there are A LOT of no-bake cookies out there. There are Haystacks,
Rice Crispie Treats, Buckeyes and a million others. So I will be
adding a category and updating it with no-bake recipes as I
discover them. INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup
    milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4
    tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup
    crunchy peanut butter
  • 3 cups quick-cooking
    oats
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I usually go
    for a whole tablespoon–or two)

DIRECTIONS: In a medium
saucepan, combine sugar, milk, butter, and cocoa. Bring to a boil,
and cook for 1 1/2 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in peanut
butter, oats, and vanilla. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto wax paper. Let
cool until hardened. FYI, “Tasty no-bake cookies made with oatmeal,
peanut butter and cocoa. Start timing when mixture reaches a full
rolling boil; this is the trick to successful cookies. If you boil
too long the cookies will be dry and crumbly. If you don’t boil
long enough, the cookies won’t form properly.” A slightly
different take
on this yummy cookie with a little more
sugar and a tad bit of salt: INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1/4 cup
    unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup
    milk
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch
    salt
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 3 cups quick cooking oats

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the
    sugar, cocoa, milk and margarine. Bring to a boil, stirring
    occasionally. Boil for 1 minute, then remove from heat and stir in
    the vanilla, salt, peanut butter and oats.
  2. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto waxed paper. Allow cookies to cool
    for at least 1 hour. Store in an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

