Recipe: Chicken Cacciatore


My mom’s chicken cacciatore…Neighbor Delford Approved 8-26-10

Chicken Cacciatore was one of those recipes we had a lot growing up. Now that I’m a Mom, I can totally see why: it is easy, uses ingredients you probably already have on-hand, and is a great way to use up leftover chicken.

Cacciatore is Italian for “Hunter’s Style”–or so Wikipedia tells me–and that simply means it includes a lot of those aromatic veggies like onion, celery and carrots. It also includes tomatoes; lots of tomatoes…if my husband was a hunter and all he brought home were carrots, celery onions and tomatoes, I think I’d be kinda mad…and I wouldn’t refer to the meal I made out of it as “Hunter’s Style”…more like “Lame Man who spends his time gathering veggies instead of shooting meat” style… but I digress…

Some recipes call for entire chunks of chicken–and I guess that would work. But I’ve only ever had it with the “spare parts” left over from a roast chicken–mostly unidentifiable chunks of meat. Maybe part of a breast, part of a thigh, part of a…well, who knows. The point is, this is a good recipe to have the day after having roast chicken.

Below is my mom’s recipe, the one I had growing up, and the one I will rely on for making for my family. For another take on this, click the upper image and read about including Kalamata olives in the dish…yum!

INGREDIENTS:

1 28 oz can tomatoes
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion chopped
3 full size carrots sliced
3 stalks celery sliced
2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/4 tsp pepper
3/4 tsp sage
1/2 tsp salt (optional)
1/4 tsp sugar
2 chicken breasts… or a bunch of left over chicken
3/4 pound shell shaped or spiral pasta

DIRECTIONS

combine all EXCEPT Pasta,
Bring to boil, reduce heat for 25 to 30 min, simmer another 30 min if using raw chicken. Prepare pasta separately.

Serve over pasta

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Chicken Cacciatore

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan (first three weeks of Aug. 2009) « Sugarmamabakingco’s Blog

  2. We use to have this, but it didn’t have such a fancy name as “Cacciatore”. Glenn called it “commodity chicken hash”, cause I would chop up the chicken small enough for all the kids that were eating at the house, add commodity canned tomatoes and commodity macaroni and serve it when I had more kids than food staying over night.

    LOL I don’t know if they remember it or not, but they all loved it. In those “olden” days on the rez we got canned chicken in our commodities, I hated it. But had to use it. I experimented with all sorts of things and I ended up adding carrots, onions, celery, didn’t have wine, wouldn’t have thought of adding it if I did. Beer maybe! LOL

    I may have to try this with “real” chicken and see if I still like it. I have the wine now days. Brings back memories of my kids growing up with their cousins. Thanks Canadace

  3. Pingback: Monthly Meal Plan: September 2009 « Sugarmamabakingco’s Blog

  4. Pingback: Monthly Meal Plan: September 2010 « SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

