Recipe: Morning Glory Muffins (dairy-free)


I had never heard of these things until I moved to Twin Falls, Idaho.

There, at Java, were these monstrous brown things with specks of orange. I was afraid; very afraid.

I didn’t spend the $2.25 on one for several years. The first time I even tried it was when it came inside a white “day old” bag, along with a blueberry muffin. But after that day, I was hooked.

I would feed it to my baby; Logan would happily munch on it for the entire stroller ride home from the coffee shop. We went every Saturday and Sunday morning, Logan, Matt and I, to read the paper, see our friends, and wake up to some great coffee and baked goods. I miss that. A lot.

When we moved out here to Va/DC,  I wasn’t prepared for how much I’d miss Idaho, or what I’d miss about it.  I didn’t realize I’d miss our little coffee shop back home or that it would be so hard to replace. I miss Java. Especially on the weekends. But I became just a teeny bit less homesick when I stood in line at our new coffee shop, St. Elmo’s,  and saw Morning Glory muffins in the bakery case for sale.

This place will never be home…but maybe it will be OK after all.

This recipe was originally created in 1978 by Chef Pam McKinstry on Nantucket Island. It was later published by Gourmet Magazine in 1981, and again featured in Gourmet ten years later as one of the publication’s 25 favorite recipes of all time. For more about the recipe, click here:  Recipe:

This recipe is already dairy-free.

1 1/4 cups sugar

2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup shredded, sweetened coconut

3/4 cup Earthbound Farm Organic Raisins

1 large organic apple, peeled and grated

1 cup (8 ounces) crushed pineapple, drained

2 cups grated carrots

1/2 cup coarsely chopped pecans or walnuts

3 large eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.

Sift or whisk together the sugar, flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl. Add the coconut, raisins, apple, pineapple, carrots, and nuts, and stir to combine.

In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs with the oil and vanilla. Pour into the bowl with the dry ingredients and blend well.

Spoon the batter into muffin tins lined with muffin cups, filling each to the brim. Bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Cool muffins in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack to finish cooling

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Morning Glory Muffins (dairy-free)

  1. Pingback: Easter Brunch « SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

