Recipe: Coffee Flavored Ice Cream


Michael Cassidy’s “Teach Me to Surf Sugar Daddy”–or–a very special piece of art.

When Matt and I were dating, he lived in Hawaii and I was stateside. We saw each other every few months, and every time it was a vacation. A perfect, romantic Hawaiian vacation. that may be a total exaggeration–he was a newspaper editor and reporter; I was still a college student. Hawaii on No Money isn’t really Hawaii as postcards and TV would have you think of it, but we still had a lot of fun on the beach and enjoying the more affordable treats, like ice cream and looking at art studios.

On the North Shore of Kaua’i, where some of the best surfing and beaches in the world are, there is also a fantastic little boutique with local artists’ work.

I fell in love with this piece of art. Cheesy, pin-up  “art”. It was perfect; it was hilarious yet aspirational and although I’ve seen many, many paintings and original works of truely “great” art in my life, it was this one that I kept thinking ab0ut, remembering and wanting.

It made me smile. It spoke to me.

Or maybe it was the way Matt spoke to me, saying, mocking, “Teach me to (insert random hobby) Sugar Daddy”  in a sultry, over-the-top manner that made me smile.

We were still joking about it, talking about it, when we stumbled in to a fabulous little ice cream shop just off the beach.

…Turns out I have great taste–in food. Not so much in art. They served Kona coffee-flavored ice cream with chocolate-covered macadamia nuts and coconut flakes… just amazing. Breath taking…also clothes staining, as I learned from spilling it all down my shirt from laughing so hard at Matt’s “Sugar Daddy” jokes and the idea of me–ME! — a Sugar Mama.

A few years, vows, a kid and a house later, Matt tracked down this piece of art and gave it to me for our 4th anniversary.

He still has to teach me to surf.

This recipe comes from my personal bible, allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon instant coffee granules
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 cups whipping cream

DIRECTIONS

In a saucepan, stir sugar, cornstarch, coffee and butter until blended. Stir in milk. Bring to a boil over medium heat; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from the heat; stir in vanilla. Cool completely. Stir in condensed milk. In a mixing bowl, beat cream until stiff peaks form; fold into milk mixture. Pour into a 9-in. square pan. Cover and freeze for 6 hours or until firm, checking to stir once the it has started to freeze over and stirring every 1.5 hours after that. At that point, add whatever chunks you’d like–chocolate pieces, nuts, go crazy.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Coffee Flavored Ice Cream

  1. Hi! My name’s Micaela, from Buenos Aires, Argentina. I found your blog, blogging! And wanted to say I love it!
    This little story you told about the piece of art your husband bought was so lovely.

    Oh, and this weekend, I’m making the “Easy, addictive banana bread”. Would you have, by any chance, a GOOD recipe for a Pecan Pie and Carrot Cake? I made Pecan Pie last weekend, but it didn’t come out really well.
    It was tasty, but the crust was salty and it contained cocoa powder (?)

    To finish, PLEASE, KEEP BLOGGING! I love it!

Leave a Reply

