Recipe: Old Fashioned Banana Cream Pie–or–I hope Caroline still speaks to me after this


My First Meringue! An old-fashioned banana cream pie.

I can already hear my girlfriend, Caroline, shrieking. In horror. Total, utter, horror.

She. Hates. Bananas.

…and I thought I did, too. With the exception of banana splits, banana bread and dried banana chips, I’ve never been a fan of banana-flavored anything…So when Logan ordered a Banana Cream Pie at the Whistle Stop Cafe for our first dinner/dessert in our new town, I kind of gagged.

I was totally grossed out by the idea.

Repulsed, even.

But Logan had been a good kid for the 630 mile ride, so I figured he could order the dessert and I wouldn’t say anything.

But you know what? The Banana Cream Pie was freakin’ amazing.

So amazing, in fact, that *I* ordered it the next time we went.

What sets the Whistle Stop’s pies apart from other pies is that they use all old-fashioned, from-scratch recipes. You know, the kind of recipes I am particularly fond of. Fewer chemicals and preservatives, more flavor and love: Those are my kinds of foods.

So tonight I’m making a Banana Cream Pie, something I’m quite certain I never would have dreamed of a week and a half ago.

Sorry, Caroline.

It tastes better than it looks, promise.

This recipe is from recipezaar.com

*I have to confess something; I used a store-bought graham cracker crust because I just didn’t feel like making any more dishes dirty…it works fine and for cream pies, this is a very very easy way to save time without compromising the finished product.

INGREDIENTS:

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Have baked 9-inch pie shell ready.
  2. In a large saucepan, scald the milk.
  3. In another saucepan, combine the sugar, flour and salt; gradually stir in the scalded milk.
  4. Over medium heat, stirring constantly, cook until thickened.
  5. Cover and, stirring occasionally, cook for two minutes longer.
  6. In a small bowl, have the 3 egg yolks, slightly beaten, ready; stir a small amount of the hot mixture into beaten yolks; when thoroughly combined, stir yolks into hot mixture.
  7. Cook for one minute longer, stirring constantly.
  8. Remove from heat and blend in the butter and vanilla.
  9. Let sit until lukewarm.
  10. When ready to pour, slice bananas and scatter in pie shell; pour warm mixture over bananas
  11. If desired, make a meringue (you’ll have 3 leftover egg whites) to top the pie, or just let the pie cool until serving, or top it with thawed cool whip.

MERINGUE RECIPE:

This recipe is the Never-Ever-Fail Meringue from allrecipes.com

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons cold water
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 egg whites
  • 6 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 pinch salt

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Blend cornstarch and cold water in a saucepan. Add boiling water, and cook until thick and clear. Cool completely.
  2. Beat egg whites till foamy. Gradually beat in sugar, beating until stiff and glossy. Add salt and vanilla, and slowly beat in cold cornstarch mixture. Beat quickly for several minutes. Spread meringue on filled, cooled 9 inch pie.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 10 minutes.
6 thoughts on “Recipe: Old Fashioned Banana Cream Pie–or–I hope Caroline still speaks to me after this

    • you can use cool whip if you want; but the meringue is better. You could also make whip cream from scratch (easy) to top it with…

  1. I taught my third grade students how to make banana cream pie this last school year. They had never heard of it much less tried it and thought I was a genius! Even the kid who swore he hated bananas and vanilla pudding loved it. Yours looks delicious.

    • Thank you! I bet those thirdgraders were really proud of themselves for making a pie! And such a yummy one! It is so liberating to realize you don’t hate something you thought for sure you wouldn’t like; I bet you changed that little boy’s perspective on food, and assumptions, forever.

Leave a Reply

