Recipe: Creamed Corn (or Cream-Style Corn)


Yeah, you could just buy a can of this in the store and call it good, but then I’d be bringing EVEN MORE CORN in to this house when I have a huge fridge just stuffed with those yellow kernels already.

Not even a dent in the copious amounts of corn we have in the fridge…oh, and don’t worry, this much corn produces about 10cups of kernels, more than enough for this recipe, plus the corn casserole recipe, plus leftovers. Way more than you need.

Thanks again, Neighbor Delford!

Plus the nearest store is like 10miles away, so…we’re making creamed corn to use in the Corn Pudding recipe.

When I was a kid I went nuts for creamed corn. Nuts. I loved the stuff. Apparently I’ve always been a southern girl at heart.

So it surprised me today, as I made this, to realize that Logan has never, not once, had creamed corn. Not from a can, not from scratch, not on purpose or by accident. The poor kid has never tasted one of my childhood favorites.

Thanks to Neighbor Delford, however, that changed tonight.

I made this recipe so I could make the corn pudding casserole recipe. I’ve never stripped the kernels off corn before so I vastly under estimated the amount of corn that bowl over there would produce.  That green bowl made about 10cups of corn kernels. So in addition to having enough for the creamed corn and the corn pudding recipe, I also have a big bowl full of even more just waiting to be made in to creamed corn tomorrow.

Two days in a row!? you ask? Well, yes. This recipe is that good. The guys each had a bowl of it (since the casserole pudding recipe doesn’t use all this creates) and they loved it. Licked it clean. Wanted more.

So tomorrow they get more. And tomorrow I get more room in the fridge.

Everyone wins.

This recipe comes from allrecipes.com…and THANK YOU, Sherry, for  helping me get over my mental block that Creamed Corn had to come in a Can and convincing me that I could, in fact, make this….that there was no magical ingredient the can provided that I couldn’t.  Thank you. 🙂

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 (10 ounce) packages frozen corn kernels, thawed (or 2 1/2lbs shucked fresh corn)
  • 1 cup heavy cream (I usually use 1/2 and 1/2)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar (am I the only one who noticed The South puts sugar in EVERYTHING?)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (optional)

DIRECTIONS

In a skillet over medium heat, combine the corn, cream, salt, sugar, pepper and butter. Whisk together the milk and flour, and stir into the corn mixture. Cook stirring over medium heat until the mixture is thickened, and corn is cooked through. Remove from heat, and stir in the Parmesan cheese until melted. Serve hot.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Creamed Corn (or Cream-Style Corn)

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Southern Corn Pudding « SugarMama Baking Company

  2. Leave out the Parmesan cheese and I bet it was good. have fun. And you are welcome, like I said, after years of cooking with “Comods” and wild game, I can make anything that comes in a container or box from scratch. LOL

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Creamy Corn Casserole « SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

