Recipe: Creamy Corn Casserole


So this is basically just like Corn Pudding, but with more of a bready texture.

I have a lot of corn to get through (thanks Neighbor Delford!), so I’m trying a lot of new southern recipes with it. This is one of them. And it is actually one of the more exciting ones, I think.

…You know, exciting for a casserole. Made of corn.

Heh.

BONUS: I am also making the Creamed Corn from scratch too, which will help to use even more of the little pieces of gold up so I might be able to actually see inside my fridge for the first time in weeks, before my neighbor with the prolific produce shows up again.

This recipe originates with allrecipes.com (side note: today I unpacked my cookbook collection and thought two things: 1) WTF am I doing with all these books, hauling them from Washington to Idaho to Virginia to Kentucky… when I really only use allrecipes.com? And 2) where are all my books!? (I have close to 50, but am missing about 20) and 3) Why do I care where my books have gone if I don’t use them anyway?… And there we are, back at Thought No.1.)

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 (8.5 ounce) package dry corn bread mix
  • 1 (15 ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 (14.75 ounce) can creamed corn
  • 1 cup sour cream

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C), and lightly grease a 9×9 inch baking dish.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine butter, eggs, corn bread mix, whole and creamed corn and sour cream. Spoon mixture into prepared dish.
  3. Bake for 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the top is golden brown.
2 thoughts on “Recipe: Creamy Corn Casserole

  1. Oh how great to have so much corn you can try any recipe you wish.
    Love corn pudding!
    However, in reading the posts I thought of corn relish. Do you know Trader Joe’s and his great corn relish? It is a salsa like relish. So wonderful. I love it on a spoon let alone warm tortillas, chicken and just about anything else.

    Carry on…

    • ooh! I’ve never heard about corn relish! Thanks for the tip! I’m going to go look that up…it sounds good!

Leave a Reply

