Recipe: Rootbeer Pulled Pork


It dawned on me, after spending $10 for a pound of pulled pork at the farmers market, that I could make a lot more of it for a lot less.

Matt loves pulled pork. I love it when I can make dinner first thing in the morning and then forget about it until Matt gets home. Everybody wins. Except, maybe, for the booth at the farmers market…but that’s OK. With their long lines, something tells me they’re going to be just fine.

This recipe is modified from one at allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS:

2lbs of a cheap pork cut: Boston Butt, Shoulder, whatever is on sale.

12 fluid ounces of Root Beer. Canned or bottled is fine. Generic is even fine.

18 ounces of your favorite BBQ sauce

Salt, pepper, garlic salt, dried onion for a rub…adjust amounts to taste. (you can skip this part entirely if you want)

buns/bread whatever if you want to make sandwiches…personally, I just eat it plain.

DIRECTIONS:

Rub the pork in the dry ingredients. Cut holes deep in to the pork to allow the fluids and flavors to soak in to the meat. Place the pork tenderloin in a slow cooker; pour the root beer over the meat. Cover and cook on low until well cooked and the pork shreds easily, 6 to 7 hours. Remove MOST (but not all) of the liquid, shred the pork, add BBQ sauce, cook for another hour.

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Rootbeer Pulled Pork

    • Hi Erin and Sandy!
      The recipe turned out pretty darn good; next time I think I will go with a smaller roast (I used 4lbs and doubled the recipe)…and maybe a different bbq sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s…which is good..but I’d like more kick next time)…

      I also made cole slaw and served these on some buns. The guys ate them up! And have been eating them now for three days! ha!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Meal Plan: September 2010 « SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

