Recipe: Fully Loaded Baked Sweet Potato


So popular, it even has a fan page on facebook…with even more fans than this blog.

Ever eat something at a restaurant and then become obsessed with recreating it at home?

You know I have. Many times. Like, Many, Many, Many times.

So meet my latest love, the Fully Loaded Baked Sweet Potato. I’m bringing him to the Christmas dinner this year. That’s how serious I am about him.

We met at the Texas Road House last month. He doesn’t call, but I have seen him three times in the last few weeks and I think I can say we’re soul mates. There may be wedding bells coming just as soon as I figure out how to marry a vegetable.

It could happen.

But until I’m able to convince the tuber to commit to me and only me, I thought in the spirit of Christmas and changing up classic side dishes for the holiday meal I’d share this lovely discovery with you…because I know we’re all on a deadline here.

A delicious deadline. With toasted marshmallows on top.

Ohmygosh, you are going to love this.

I am assuming, of course, that you have taste buds. Not having taste buds would be the only reason you might not fall head-over-heals for this amazing little side dish like I have.

When I tasted Texas Roadhouse’s Fully Loaded Baked Sweet Potato I knew it was simple culinary algebra: Sweet Potato+Marshmallows+Brown Sugar+Butter+?= Amazing, Mind-Blowing Awesome Awesomeness.

? did not = milk. Or melted caramels. Or vanilla. Or love, as much as Logan swore it did.

I bought eleventy-billion sweet potatoes at Costco to try to figure it out..but I couldn’t quite place the secret ingredient that turned the brown sugar and butter into liquid magic.

That’s when I began googling.Turns out, that equation solved for “?”.

Costco+Google= a gem on youtube.com .

?=honey.

HONEY!

Honey in equal parts with the brown sugar.

I knew it was simple.

INGREDIENTS:

Some sweet potatoes…as many as there are people you are serving. I’m going with 6-8, good-sized  ones(think baked potato sized)

1/2 cup honey (use local if you can, store-bought “honey” is sometimes nothing more than high fructose corn syrup)

1/2 cup brown sugar

8 TBSP butter

a bag of small marshmallows

DIRECTIONS:

preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Bake sweet potatoes for 30-45minutes, until tender

while baking, melt butter in a saucepan on stove. Whisk in honey and brown sugar for about 3-5 minutes until it becomes a nice caramel sauce.

When baked potatoes are done, pull ’em out of the oven, open them like a baked potato, put a couple marshmallows on them, pour some of the honey-caramel sauce on top of the marshmallows, then put more marshmallows on top.  Set the oven to broil and broil the potatoes for 30 seconds or until marshmallows are toasted–but not burned. Remove from oven and serve.

Yum.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Fully Loaded Baked Sweet Potato

  1. These are good, I just made them for mom and me last week. She use to make them all the time when I was a kid. I just love them. Mom said they use to have them as a meal when she was a kid and they were poorer than poor. Her grammy made “marshmellows” of sorts I guess.

Leave a Reply

