Recipe: Cherry Pie


Cherry Pie, in-progress.

Go ahead, ask me why I don’t have a shot of the finished pie at the top of this post.

…go on, don’t be shy.

You really wanna know? You sure? You positive you can handle the truth?

‘Cause I ate it.

All.

Hopefully that tells you more about how good this pie is than about my complete and total lack of self-control when left unsupervised with a scrumptious baked good.

I ate it all before I had the chance to take a picture.

The pie made me do it.

Be afraid, people. The power of this pie to totally draw you in and make you eat it –ALL– is omnipotent. You can’t escape it. Once its out of the oven, it calls to you, seducing your tastebuds with its sweet-tart taste and flakey-crisp and buttery crust.

The Force is strong with this one.

It doesn’t help that this pie is also 1) the easiest one I’ve ever made and 2) the quickest pie I’ve ever prepared.

This Cherry Pie will get you, too, and have its way with you. You wont even realize you’re eating the entire pie until you’re three slices in…and there’s no going back. I should know; I’ve made it more than a dozen times over the last five years. This may explain the number on my scale…

Be warned.

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/4 cups sugar plus 1 TBSP sugar for sprinkling on crust

1/4 cup corn starch

1/4tsp cinnamon

pinch salt

3 cans of Oregon tart cherries, strained and pitted. Not cherry filling (gross). You could use fresh tart cherries, or canned tart cherries from your garden, but make sure you’ve got between 6-8 cups worth.

1/4tsp almond extract

1 recipe double pie crust (the recipe is about half-way through the apple pie post…)

1 TBSP milk (half &half) for milk wash

Adding sugar.

DIRECTIONS:

Prepare the pie crust. If you’re planning to make a lattice top, you’ll need to put one ball of the dough in the freezer for about 20minutes…so…do this first.

Cover a rimmed baking sheet in aluminum foil. If you neglect this, you will regret it later when you’re trying to scrub the darn thing clean.

Adjust oven rack so it is in the lowest position; place that rimmed baking sheet on the rack and turn up the oven all the way to 500. Don’t be scared when the smoke alarm goes off; it means an angel just got its wings.

In a bowl, mix the sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon and salt. Stir in drained and pitted cherries, add almond extract. You can add a smidge more sugar if the cherries are particularly tart (and if they are, or are fresh, or both, then let the cherries sit in this mixture for about 20minutes before proceeding).

Life is just a bowl of cherries, don’t take it serious; it’s too mysterious! And this is a glimpse in to a moment of my sweet life (to make it less mysterious):  This bowl of cherries is soaking in its sugar and spices on top of the beautiful hand-me-down kitchen table my girlfriend Monica recently gifted me so my 6’4″ husband would stop hitting his head on the random chandelier in the kitchen that (now) hangs above it; the bowl was part of a 3-bowl set (of which only two still survive) from our wedding 9 years ago; the apron on the back of that chair is a vintage apron I’m quite fond of; the chair it is on is an antique I picked up at a big festival in a teeny town that just happens to match (exactly) an antique chair that comes from my mom’s side of the family that I was given when I got my first apartment in college. That chair has moved seven times with me before it finally found its mate. The china hutch in the background is an antique children’s piece I’ve had since childhood that used to hold my little treasures and books and today holds my Emile Henry pie plate collection, my wire chicken egg basket collection, and other miniature and tiny culinary treasures. Next to the bowl is my handy-dandy recipe notebook and in the far background, that green blur, is my taste-tester, trying to sneak a taste of the tart cherries.

Easy so far, right?

Now put the pie filling in the prepared pie dish.Add top crust (lattice or cut outs or whatever your heart desires). Crimp edges.

Brush the top crust with the milk, then sprinkle sugar on it.

if you want beautiful crusts, get your fingers wet and massage the crust until it blends perfectly with the rest of the crust. I didn’t feel like doing that…

Cover edges with a pie protector. If you don’t have one, bend some aluminum foil around the rim of the pie to protect it.

Place pie on the pre-heated baking sheet and then place it in the oven on the lowest rack, and turn temp DOWN to 425. Bake for about 25 minutes or until crust is golden. Rotate the sheet, turn the oven temp down to 375 and bake another 30 minutes until crust is golden brown. Cool on wire rack until room temperature. Try to resist its awesomeness.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Cherry Pie

  1. Nicely put together, you just made making pies so much easier! And I really like the idea of having cut outs for toppings. I think this will be a great activity for my kids. They really love helping around the kitchen especially when I’m making pies. As my 3-year old puts it, ‘its fun and messy’! lol!

    • Thanks! My son has been helping me with pies since he was 2.5–his job has always been to brush the cream on the crust with a silicone brush and sprinkle sugar on top of that. I think letting the kids do the cutouts is a great idea! I got my cutouts from Pampered Chef and Williams-Sonoma, but really you could use any small cookie-cutters. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

