Recipe: Nana’s Blackberry Cobbler


Blackberries grow wild in the Seattle area in a big, big way. I’d be shocked if grocery stores actually sold blackberries in Wa; it would be like trying to sell crab grass or dandelions.  I always thought blackberries were a weed; we called them sticker bushes and it didn’t dawn on me until I was grown and gone that some people actually WANTED those things in their yards. People bought sticker bushes to plant–on purpose.

Crazzzzzzzy.

Oddly enough, by my 5th year in Idaho I was missing the weekly blackberry cobblers of my childhood summers. So I bought some thornless blackberry bushes (I will never buy sticker bushes, thankyouverymuch), planted them in my own backyard, and viola, dark, tart and sweet little treats.

But then we moved. Again. And again. And now I’m here, in rural Kentucky where nothing even remotely resembles Seattle (there isn’t even a Starbucks for 50 miles). Yet at this teeny-tiny backwoods BBQ shack off the 31W, half an hour from our place, I found fresh blackberry cobbler, like my Nana used to make.

(Nana, you may remember, is the legendary southern cook who also makes this unforgettable chocolate cake.)

So here I am, back in the land my Nana grew up in, but thousands of miles away from my own home, surrounded by tobacco farms just like the ones Nana was raised working on, and I’m getting ready to plant some blackberry bushes so Logan can grow up eating blackberry cobbler like his northwesterner mama did, his southerner great-grandma did, and everyone, everywhere, should.

To make dairy-free: Replace butter with soy-free Earth Balance and the milk with original or vanilla So Delicious coconut milk.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix in a sauce pan,

six cups blackberries

1 cup sugar

1  teaspoon cinnamon

In small bowl, mix together

1 cup water

3 tablespoons flour

Add to sauce pan.

Bring to a boil and boil 1 minute, stirring constantly.

Pour into 1 1/2 quart baking dish and dot with diced butter.

Biscuit topping

Sift together

1 cup  flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Cut in with pastry blender,

3 tablespoons of shortening

until the mixture looks like small crumbs (Do not mix it too much.  Just several times of “pulse” are enough.)

Stir in 1/3 cup whole milk using “pulse” of blender.

Drop by spoonfuls onto hot fruit.  Bake until golden brown.

Bake 30-35 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Nana’s Blackberry Cobbler

  1. Yum!! My mouth actually started watering as I began looking at these pictures! :o) I can’t wait to try this recipe …. do you think this recipe would work with apricots? Apricots are one of my favorite “cobbler fruits” …. and we live quite near the apricot Capitol of the world out here in CA.

    Hanks – H :o)

    • Yes, I do–I think this recipe would work very well with just about any fruit (cherry might require more sugar, though)…don’t worry if you don’t have enough of the fruit; I actually only used 3 cups of blackberries this time because it was all I had, but kept the rest of the ingredients the same…yumm!

  2. Pingback: The Casserole Dish… « SugarMama Baking Company

  3. Pingback: Recipes: Dutch Babies. They’re better than they sound. | SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

