Recipe: Mediterranean Quinoa with Chicken


I’d like everyone to meet my new best friend, Quinoa.

I heard a lot about her over the last few years, about how versitle and healthy she is with her amino acids, protein, iron and fiber. Plus Quinoa is way more exotic sounding than Couscous or Basmati Rice.

But I was afraid. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m intimidated by foods I’m not sure how to pronounce…It’s why I dropped 25lbs in a month in SE Asia as a teen while eating nothing but french fries.

In fact, it took far more time than I’m willing to admit before I put together that the KEEN-WAH people were talking about was that Couscous-looking stuff that started with a Q.

But today I knew what I was looking for when I got to the Whole Foods bulk section. I loaded up 2lbs worth of organic quinoa and was proud of myself…until I got to Costco and found I could get 4lbs of organic quinoa for much less per pound….so I bought that, too.

I now have 6lbs of a food I just learned to pronounce…and I’m planning to inflict it on every other dinner I make this month. No more brown rice or couscous or whole grain pastas. It’s all quinoa, all the time, starting with a Mediterranean-flavored salad that features chicken and chickpeas. What’s your favorite quinoa recipe?

adjusted and altered from the original recipe on allrecipes.com

  • 4 cups water
  • 4 cubes chicken bouillon **use homemade vegetable stock, or Kitchen Basics brand stock to make dairy-free
  • 2 clove garlic, smashed
  • 2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • However much leftover chicken you’ve got hanging around …
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 large red onion, diced
  • 1 large green, red, yellow or orange bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cucumber, diced
  • 1 cup chopped kalamata olives
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese **remove to make dairy-free
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh chives (OK to omit)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil

Directions:

  1. Bring the water, bouillon cubes, and garlic to a boil in a saucepan. Stir in the quinoa, reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes. Discard the garlic clove and scrape the quinoa into a large bowl.
  2. Combine wet ingredients and salt in separate bowl. Mix.
  3. Gently stir the chicken, onion, bell pepper, olives, feta cheese, parsley, chives into the quinoa. Drizzle with the lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. Stir until evenly mixed. Serve warm or refrigerate and serve cold.

20130723-151723.jpg

One thought on “Recipe: Mediterranean Quinoa with Chicken

  1. Pingback: Monthly Meal Plan: February 2012 « SugarMama Baking Company

Leave a Reply

